Ticket #1639 (new defect)

Opened 7 years ago

Last modified 5 years ago

"preserve Attributes" option should *not* be automatically disabled

Reported by: birdie Owned by:
Priority: major Milestone: Future Releases
Component: mc-core Version: master
Keywords: Cc: mrmazda@…, zaytsev
Blocked By: Blocking:
Branch state: no branch Votes for changeset:

Description

When copying files from ext{2,3,4) filesystem (or any other Unix filesystem) to FAT32 filesystem "preserve Attributes" option is automatically disabled.

That's wrong for two reasons:

1) Files modification time is lost.
2) MC doesn't let you know that your files have improper permissions. Anyway there's a "quiet" vfat mount option which suppresses any error messages when setting unsupported file attributes.

Please, do NOT disable "preserve Attributes" option under any circumstances.

Change History

comment:1 Changed 7 years ago by andrew_b

Related to #119

comment:2 Changed 7 years ago by zaytsev

comment:3 Changed 7 years ago by slavazanko

  • Blocked By 1619 added

No. #1619 just about fixing timestamps with unchecked 'preserve attributes' option.

This ticket about always turned on 'preserve attributes' option.

comment:4 Changed 7 years ago by mrmazda

  • Cc mrmazda@… added

comment:5 Changed 7 years ago by slavazanko

  • Blocked By 1619 removed

comment:6 follow-up: ↓ 7 Changed 7 years ago by zaytsev

  • Cc zaytsev added

Hey, Slava!

Do you have any updates on when this issue is going to be solved? Debian people using ZFS via FUSE are very pissed off.

Thanks.

P.S. http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=567610

comment:7 in reply to: ↑ 6 ; follow-up: ↓ 9 Changed 7 years ago by birdie

Replying to zaytsev:

Hey, Slava!

Do you have any updates on when this issue is going to be solved? Debian people using ZFS via FUSE are very pissed off.

Thanks.

If I'm not mistaken MC 4.7.1 will remember all options for all dialogs once they are modified.

comment:8 Changed 7 years ago by zaytsev

Is this going to be backported to the stable branch? We would not be able to update to unstable after freeze.

comment:9 in reply to: ↑ 7 Changed 7 years ago by andrew_b

Replying to birdie:

If I'm not mistaken MC 4.7.1 will remember all options for all dialogs once they are modified.

It is not implemented yet. Some dialogs remember, but most of dialogs don't. Copy/Move? dialog doesn't.

comment:10 Changed 7 years ago by zaytsev

Do you have any ETA anyways? :-) OK, nice that at least it's being worked on.

comment:11 Changed 7 years ago by zaytsev

Tadam?

comment:12 Changed 5 years ago by andrew_b

  • Branch state set to no branch
  • Milestone changed from 4.7 to Future Releases
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.